Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?

Newbie to NYC. Played Ultimate for Florida State.
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
Go to bottomPage: 1
TOPIC: Newbie to NYC. Played Ultimate for Florida State.
Newbie to NYC. Played Ultimate for Florida State. 7 Years, 6 Months ago Karma: 0
Hey guys / gals.

I am new to the NYC disc scene. I played competitive disc golf the past 4 years down in Florida, but there is not really any of that around here (requires too much space to be empty). As a result, I am looking to get back in to the Ultimate scene.

A little about myself:
My name is John Allaman. I graduated from FSU with my degree from FSU in December 2006. I played collegiate competitive ultimate for Florida State from 2002-2005. We were pretty serious/good, being ranked as high as #9 in the country, after defeating UC Santa Barbara at Mardi Gras (I believe it was 2003 or 2004). Several players from our team just returned from playing at Worlds in Prague (Chain Lighting). I am not nearly that good. We did run a trick zone that screwed with a lot of teams (think rotating cup... for those who know standard zone defense).

I do have decent skills, and was in our starting seven (we had an A and a B team one year, and I was still starting A). I mainly played popper position against zones, and was either the dump or mid-stack in a man-on-man situation. It has been about 4 years since I played competitively (not nearly in good enough shape now).

I am wondering what kind of leagues / pickup games / etc. there are around NYC.

I have disc skills (picked up disc golf competitively after ultimate), and it will just take a game or two to get my release point and arm speed adjusted back to an Ultrastar (we didnt play with Whamo discs... 175 UPA certified only).